Disable Calculations on certain worksheets

Tkeller

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
I have a very large excel model that requires "solving". This is taking a very long amount of time because each "loop" requires the model to recalculate every worksheet. I would like a way to only enable "calculation" worksheets, and to turnoff output and input worksheets that do not impact the calculations. Is there a simple way to do this?

I was thinking that I could mark the vital "calculation" worksheets (e.g. with a "1" in cell A1), then I could develop a procedure to first turns calculations to "manual", then goes through each worksheet of the workbook and only enables calculations in those worksheets marked with a "1". Then after performing all the solving, I could turn calculations back to "automatic". I am not sure if my idea is the best way to go about this, nor exactly how I would write this code (I am still a novice, but learning every day!).

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Excel Facts

Excel Joke
Why can't spreadsheets drive cars? They crash too often!
As far as I know, Calculation is set to Auto or Manual at Workbook level and one can't disable calc in individual worksheets.

Those worksheets "that do not impact the calculations" will in any case be NOT recalculated. So even theoratically turning off calculation in these sheets will not make any difference.

Does this line "each "loop" requires the model to recalculate every worksheet" mean you are using VBA/macro? If yes then try this:
Code:
Sub Test()
Application.DisplayAlerts = False
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.Calculation = xlCalculationManual

'your code here

Application.DisplayAlerts = True
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
Application.Calculation = xlCalculationAutomatic
End Sub
This will stop all calculations, alerts and screen changes, speeding up the code considerably.

Upvote 0