how to make a inventory list using barcode scanner

lenaraiwa

Hi, i am brand new to this forum, and not so fluent in excel for more complicated tasks.

i have been looking for a solution for this online, but seem to be running in circles, so thought i would post here.

I want to make an shipping list using a barcode scanner. i have a master list that contains all of the inventory numbers and the relevant item data in each row. i would like to be able to scan the barcode of the item and have excel automatically look up the row from the master list and put it into the shipping list.

I would appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction for this. thanks in advance for any help!

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
You will have to do this by first getting a bar code font for excel and a USB scanner so that you can attach it to your computer.

You can enter bar code fonts in Google search and download one for the type of bar code you are scanning. This will give you the ability to scan and have the cells populate with the bar code number that your scanning.

The next step with be to do a look up function (vlookup, or index,and match) with the scanned number against your master file to populate your form with the item description as you scan.

Hope this helps

Upvote 0
Hi, i am brand new to this forum, and not so fluent in excel for more complicated tasks.

i have been looking for a solution for this online, but seem to be running in circles, so thought i would post here.

I want to make an shipping list using a barcode scanner. i have a master list that contains all of the inventory numbers and the relevant item data in each row. i would like to be able to scan the barcode of the item and have excel automatically look up the row from the master list and put it into the shipping list.