12345 jane ca 5551214
6789 bill sl 4441111
6789 brenda ca 4441112
6789 brad pe 4441113

and I need to move everything into rows like this:

account name code tel# name code tel#
12345 jane ca 5551212 joe sl 5551213...
6789 brenda ca 4441112 bill sl 4441111

Is there a way to automate this so that I don't have to cut and paste everything...

I am new at this posting thing, so i hope this comes out right!!!

~s

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
ok... not sure if my original post made enough sense...sorry...let me try again...

anyway... I have this download, and it comes out with the following headings:
account (A1), name (B1), code (C1) and tel# (D1). So A2-A5 could all be the same account with B2-B5 having the names of the various people working on that account. I need to change it so that there is only one row per account, and the rest of the information will be put into that row. ie: Row 2, A2 will contain the account number, Row 2, B2 will contain a name, Row 2, C2 will contain the corresponding code to the name in B2, Row 2, D2 will contain the tel #, Row 2, E2 will contain the next name associated with that account, Row 2,F2 will contain the code associated with the name in E2, Row 2, G2 will contain the tel# and so on and so forth.
So rather than having four rows and four columns for each account, I need to have 1 row and 12 columns for each account.

Is this any clearer? Probably not... I apologize... but if anyone can figure out what the heck i am talking about, I would be hugely grateful!

~s

Upvote 0
Hi,

Is it okay to post the new data on a new spreadsheet, or does it have to go on existing sheet? Is there a limit on the number of names associated with an account?

Upvote 0
Hi,

I have the same questions as bergy, but I went forward and wrote something which may help.