Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: lookup easy one

  1. #21
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-25 16:56, lars wrote:
    Mark, I just typed in a 0...no good?
    So your left-most column of PAX looks something like...

    0
    A112
    A113
    D112

    ...Right? What did you mean by "it only works with E15"?

  2. #22
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    105
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mark, my data looks like what you said I will put the 0 at the bottom but other than that it's the same. My range of cells E15-E21 are voyages and when I put the A228 for example in E15 The lookup will find A228 in the range PAX but when I put A229 in E16 then #n/a comes back.

  3. #23
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-26 10:08, lars wrote:
    Mark, my data looks like what you said I will put the 0 at the bottom but other than that it's the same. My range of cells E15-E21 are voyages and when I put the A228 for example in E15 The lookup will find A228 in the range PAX but when I put A229 in E16 then #n/a comes back.
    Then "A229" must not be in PAX. Are you sure that no trailing spaces were inadvertantly added to either your lookup value or the table_array, PAX?

  4. #24
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    105
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm positive, I will play with it some more to see if I can come up with another solution. Any other thoughts?

    Thanks

  5. #25
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    BTW, I have no idea what you're trying to accomplish with...

    IF(ISNUMBER((E15)*1),(E15)*1,(E15))

    ...if 0 has been added to PAX you can simply use...

    =VLOOKUP(E15,PAX,12,FALSE)

  6. #26
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    105
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I know that formula for some reason worked with this download and the regular lookup did not. Not sure why....maybe now with the 0 I will try the lookup as you stated and see what happens.

    Thanks for the help Mark!!

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •