Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: How to insert a blank value with a function

  1. #11
    Guest

    Default

    If I understand your intent correctly (I was/am quite unsure about MJ's), wouldn't just

    =VLOOKUP(E2,R2:S12,2,FALSE)

    suffice?
    Not necessarily... what if R2:R12 contains a 0?
    [/quote]

    There's no 0's in R2:S12; it is a fixed vocabulary that is then translated to a fixed list of numbers starting at 1.0.

    The simplest =VLOOKUP thus suffices! I didn't realize #N/A let's the chart interpolate that value without explicetly being told to, this is way better than my previous hacks. I thin kI discarded my first attempt with a simple VLOOKUP because I didn't like the look of all the #N/A's in the set and assumed it would cause errors in the chart. But as the column is hidden anyway, this is actually absolutely perfect.

    Thanks!

  2. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Whoops, last post was of course me...

  3. #13
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    11,959
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


    Not necessarily... what if R2:R12 contains a 0?
    Mark, if R2:R12 did have a 0, wouldn't be "necesary" to plot it ? I mean, the data IS there, then, it should be plotted... not ?
    Regards,

    Juan Pablo González
    http://www.juanpg.com

  4. #14
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    83,593
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)

    Default

    MJ,

    Quel denoument!

    I didn't dare to think that you just wanted to suppress 0-values from your charts. Mark has gone straight to that conclusion. Looks like rightly so.

    Aladin

    On 2002-02-26 07:58, Anonymous wrote:
    If I understand your intent correctly (I was/am quite unsure about MJ's), wouldn't just

    =VLOOKUP(E2,R2:S12,2,FALSE)

    suffice?
    Not necessarily... what if R2:R12 contains a 0?
    There's no 0's in R2:S12; it is a fixed vocabulary that is then translated to a fixed list of numbers starting at 1.0.

    The simplest =VLOOKUP thus suffices! I didn't realize #N/A let's the chart interpolate that value without explicetly being told to, this is way better than my previous hacks. I thin kI discarded my first attempt with a simple VLOOKUP because I didn't like the look of all the #N/A's in the set and assumed it would cause errors in the chart. But as the column is hidden anyway, this is actually absolutely perfect.

    Thanks!
    [/quote]

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Moab, Utah
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to insert a blank value with a function

    F16= Start date
    G16= End Date

    =NETWORKDAYS(F16,IF(ISBLANK(G16),TODAY(),G16))

    If you end date is blank (they are still working for you) then it will give the number of days that they have worked between their start day and the current date.

  6. #16
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Smitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    29,518
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to insert a blank value with a function

    Welcome to the Board!

    Quote Originally Posted by Gra06021 View Post
    F16= Start date
    G16= End Date

    =NETWORKDAYS(F16,IF(ISBLANK(G16),TODAY(),G16))

    If you end date is blank (they are still working for you) then it will give the number of days that they have worked between their start day and the current date.
    Did you mean to reply to this thread? If you PM me the URL of the thread you wanted to reply to, I'll move your response.

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Moab, Utah
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to insert a blank value with a function

    Whoops! yes this went to the wrong thread!

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •