Power Query Course in Spanish
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Delete Dupicates in a coulmn

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    250
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Again,

    Is there a way that I cans duplicates in a column with a formula?

    Thank you for your time,

    This is an Awesome board, never seen one like it.

    Thanks,

    Jim

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Ivan F Moala's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-29 00:40, jeh wrote:
    Hi Again,

    Is there a way that I cans duplicates in a column with a formula?

    Thank you for your time,

    This is an Awesome board, never seen one like it.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    Hi Jim
    Can you explain further what you want to do ??
    as you can't delete duplicates in a column
    with a formula.....do you mean Hide ??
    Kind Regards,
    Ivan F Moala From the City of Sails

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,026
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-29 00:40, jeh wrote:
    Hi Again,

    Is there a way that I cans duplicates in a column with a formula?

    Thank you for your time,

    This is an Awesome board, never seen one like it.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    A formula-based approach would be expensive. What you ask can be done with Advanced Filter (Data|Filter|Advanced Filter) where you check Unique records only. TsTom, among others, might want to turn this into a macro for you.

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    250
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Ivan,

    Tom helped out with a routine that will copy and paste data from one sheet to another. One thing I forgot to mention to him was that there will sometimes be duplicates that will pasted over to the pasted sheet, I don't want this to happen. so i thought there may be a way to delete the duplicates that were pasted over to the sheet. I hope I'm making sense to you.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    On 2002-04-29 00:44, Ivan F Moala wrote:
    On 2002-04-29 00:40, jeh wrote:
    Hi Again,

    Is there a way that I cans duplicates in a column with a formula?

    Thank you for your time,

    This is an Awesome board, never seen one like it.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    Hi Jim
    Can you explain further what you want to do ??
    as you can't delete duplicates in a column
    with a formula.....do you mean Hide ??

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    250
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Aladin,

    I'm not really sure as to the approach to deal with this. Tom was kind enough to get me this far. I hoped that there may be a simple solution to deleting duplicates from a colunm, but I guess not.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    On 2002-04-29 00:44, Aladin Akyurek wrote:
    On 2002-04-29 00:40, jeh wrote:
    Hi Again,

    Is there a way that I cans duplicates in a column with a formula?

    Thank you for your time,

    This is an Awesome board, never seen one like it.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    A formula-based approach would be expensive. What you ask can be done with Advanced Filter (Data|Filter|Advanced Filter) where you check Unique records only. TsTom, among others, might want to turn this into a macro for you.
    [/quote]

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    328
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This ongoing dilemma is always actual for everyone. When to use formulas, when some VBA code and when application functionality. Whenever there is functionality available via Excel menus, makes sense to use it. Is already there, without any creative effort. This is the case with the Advanced Filter option. When you can write formulas in cells, that is the second option. And lastly, when no other option, you have to write some code. Keep this in mind for the economics of performing certain tasks, based on the above and the frequency of usage.

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Posts
    1,030
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There are alot of examples of vba code for you on this board sometimes a formula is not the way to go me personally would rather use code because its my stronger part.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •