Simple Problem

mikadillo

I am a newbie to Excel (forced away from Lotus) and have a large work sheet that I want to put double quotes around the data in only 1 column. I have tried but can't seem to find the answer. There must be a simple solution. Thanks for the help.

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
Thanks for the quick answer Robb but that only puts it in the top cell. I have thousands of rows and to get it in all of them. I am a rank amateur at this and so maybe I did it wrong.

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-29 05:46, mikadillo wrote:
I am a newbie to Excel (forced away from Lotus) and have a large work sheet that I want to put double quotes around the data in only 1 column. I have tried but can't seem to find the answer. There must be a simple solution. Thanks for the help.

In B1 enter:

=CHAR(34)&A1&CHAR(34)

where A1 holds the first entry to wrap between double quotes.

Give a double click on the fill handle (the little black square) in the lower-right corner of B1 in order to copy down the formula.

May I ask why you need to do this double quoting?

Upvote 0
You may also want to try a VBA work-around, if you want to achieve this effect automatically as you enter values in that column.

Right click on your sheet tab, left click on View Code, and paste this in:

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Column<> 1 Or Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
Application.EnableEvents = False
Target = "'''" & Target & "''"
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

Please note a few important points:

(1) This code is for column A (that's what the "1" means in the line "Target.Column<> 1 "). Modify for column number as needed.

(2) Any numbers you enter will not be of much use to you in trying to do calculations with them, unless you use some advance formula techniques.