Delete rows with Red text

richiwatts

Board Regular
Hi,

I am a total Excel beginner so please excuse me if there is already a fucntion in Excel to do this.

Is it possible to have a macro that would delete the entire row if any cell in column D contains some red text. Not all the text in the cell is red and maybe just one word.

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Hi,
Welcome to MrExcel Board,

select your excel sheet - press alt + f11 - code window open then - paste this code here - then you can see two drop down list - in 1st you will see by default (General) - select workbook there - as soon as you select workbook - in code window "workbook_open" event automatically comes - you can paste that code inside this.

even if you have any problem, do not hesitate to reply.
U will learn all excel funda on Mrexcel Board.

Public Function fnRemoveColorText()
Dim i, j
j = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
For i = 2 To j
If ActiveSheet.Cells(i, 1).Font.ColorIndex = 3 Then
ActiveSheet.Cells(i, 1).Select
Selection.EntireRow.Delete
End If
Next
End Function

Upvote 0
VBABEGINER, just a couple of comments about your code.

Apart from your code acting on a different column to that stated by the OP, your code will fail in these two circumstances:

1. If two successive rows contain red text, one of them will not be deleted. When deleting rows like this it's generall best to work from bottom to top.

2. If the first character or moe in the cell are not red but then some red characters occur, the row will not be deleted. Note the final sentence in the original post.

richiwatts, try this code in a copy of your workbook.