Coloring Cells

elgringo56

Row 19, columns A,B &C contain data.
Row 19, colum E contains a formula that test the condition of the data in A19,B19 & C19 and returns the word "Error" to cell E19 if all conditions are not met. In G19, I would like an IF statement that would allow me to turn A19,B19 & C19 the color Red if E19 equals the word "Error". Any ideas of what that formula would be?

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Try using conditional formatting for A thru C 19.
for condition 1 change option to "Formula is" and use this as the formula:
=$E$19="error"

Mav

Upvote 0
Thank you for responding, but I really dont understand the response. I am a true novice here. what I was looking for is something like, =IF(E19="Error",("A19:C19")=Color X,("A19:C19")=No Fill

Upvote 0
On 2002-04-30 18:35, elgringo56 wrote:
Row 19, columns A,B &C contain data.
Row 19, colum E contains a formula that test the condition of the data in A19,B19 & C19 and returns the word "Error" to cell E19 if all conditions are not met. In G19, I would like an IF statement that would allow me to turn A19,B19 & C19 the color Red if E19 equals the word "Error". Any ideas of what that formula would be?

Hi elgringo56:
You don't need a special formula in cell G19, what you need to do is CONDITION FORMATTING for cells A19, B19, and C19. This is first you need to do.

Highlite cell A19 -- then FORMAT|CONDITIONAL_FORMATTING
then in the dialog box condition 1, say formula is:
=$E$19="Error"
then click on Format...then Patterns ... then color red ... then OK.
Now copy the format from cell A19 to cells B19 and C19.

That will do it.

Hope this Helps!

Upvote 0
Hi Mav:
I might have been keying in my response just as you posted yours. In any event now elgringo56 has a step by step procedure for what he needs to do.

Regards!
Yogi Anand

Upvote 0