Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Coloring Cells

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
    Posts
    869
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Row 19, columns A,B &C contain data.
    Row 19, colum E contains a formula that test the condition of the data in A19,B19 & C19 and returns the word "Error" to cell E19 if all conditions are not met. In G19, I would like an IF statement that would allow me to turn A19,B19 & C19 the color Red if E19 equals the word "Error". Any ideas of what that formula would be?

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Try using conditional formatting for A thru C 19.
    for condition 1 change option to "Formula is" and use this as the formula:
    =$E$19="error"

    Mav

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
    Posts
    869
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thank you for responding, but I really dont understand the response. I am a true novice here. what I was looking for is something like, =IF(E19="Error",("A19:C19")=Color X,("A19:C19")=No Fill

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    11,454
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-30 18:35, elgringo56 wrote:
    Row 19, columns A,B &C contain data.
    Row 19, colum E contains a formula that test the condition of the data in A19,B19 & C19 and returns the word "Error" to cell E19 if all conditions are not met. In G19, I would like an IF statement that would allow me to turn A19,B19 & C19 the color Red if E19 equals the word "Error". Any ideas of what that formula would be?
    Hi elgringo56:
    You don't need a special formula in cell G19, what you need to do is CONDITION FORMATTING for cells A19, B19, and C19. This is first you need to do.

    Highlite cell A19 -- then FORMAT|CONDITIONAL_FORMATTING
    then in the dialog box condition 1, say formula is:
    =$E$19="Error"
    then click on Format...then Patterns ... then color red ... then OK.
    Now copy the format from cell A19 to cells B19 and C19.

    That will do it.

    Hope this Helps!




    Regards!

    Yogi Anand, D.Eng, P.E.
    Energy Efficient Building Network LLC
    www.energyefficientbuild.com

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    11,454
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Mav:
    I might have been keying in my response just as you posted yours. In any event now elgringo56 has a step by step procedure for what he needs to do.

    Regards!
    Yogi Anand

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
    Posts
    869
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, I will give that a shot. It kinda makes sence to me, which is strange cuz not much in this does so far. LOL

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
    Posts
    869
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry, guys, I live deep down in Mexico and we had one of our famous power outages for a while, so took a bit before I could try it. That does what I need, to an extent, but would sure be more convienent if there were a way to do it with an IF statement. Thanks for all you help..........ElGringo

  8. #8
    Board Regular zacemmel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    636
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You cannot change cell colors, column widths, row heights with formulas. However, you can change colors with conditional formatting.

    If you are wanting to change colors without using conditional formatting, I would suggest learning VBA. It is not that hard to learn, yet it is very powerful.

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    11,454
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-04-30 20:28, elgringo56 wrote:
    Sorry, guys, I live deep down in Mexico and we had one of our famous power outages for a while, so took a bit before I could try it. That does what I need, to an extent, but would sure be more convienent if there were a way to do it with an IF statement. Thanks for all you help..........ElGringo
    Hi ElGringo:
    Any particular reason you would like to do it with an IF statement? ... Why don't you like Conditional Formatting?

  10. #10
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
    Posts
    869
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    because the field I am gonna use this in is 10000 cells long and the user can change (delete) cells in it. An If statement would let me put a formula in a protected area that the user cant get to

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •