IF Stmt

Puntarenas

I need to change the value of a cell if a criteria is met otherwise leave the current value of that cell intact - How do I do that?

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
You could try some VB.

If Activecell.value = (your criteria) then
activecell.value = (new value)
else
activecell.offsett(1,0).select 'go to next cell
end if

Upvote 0
you can also use a formula for this.
=if(celllocation=criteria, newvalue,celllocation)
substitute the cell address, criteria and newvalue for the names above.

Upvote 0
Phiore,
When I use your formula I get a 'circular reference' error. This is due to trying to leave the value of the
'test' cell when the 'criteria' is not met. Any other ideas
PS. I am not a VB programer
This message was edited by Puntarenas on 2002-05-02 16:19

Upvote 0
...I get a 'circular reference' error.

could you provide some more information including cell refs and exactly what you want to have the formula return?

Upvote 0
Anno,
Sorry taken so long to reply (traveling).
Basically, what I am trying to do is to leave the value of the cell being tested intact unless the value of another cell matches a criteria
Ex.
A2= 8
A5= Y
I want to test cell A2 so that if A5 = Y change the value to 10 else leave 8.
Does this help?
JAC

Upvote 0
Hello Jac

take a look, is this what you mean or am i missing something?