Newbie - Finding maximum in a variable range

tcheung

Hi guys,

I am a newbie in excel and vba. Apology in advance if the question look so stupid. I have read through some of the post but I could not find the answer I want.

I am now working on an excel spreadsheet which will automatically update every day so that one row will be added on the top of the sheet everyday.
i.e.
A1 Date Price
A2 (New row added,date) (New row added,price)
A3 16/1/2013 5.5
A4 15/1/2013 5.6
A5 14/1/2013 5.45
... ...

Assuming that I am looking for maximum value of the column "Price", since max() cannot be applied to variable range, is there other method I could useto look for the most updated maximum value of column "price"?

Thank you

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
Assuming Price Column start at Column B --> =LOOKUP(90000000000,B:B) Input The Formula at Colum A or C, and don't input at Column B

Another Formula to retrieve the last occurence :

=VLOOKUP(90000000000,B:B,1)

or

=LOOKUP(2,1/(B:B<>""),B:B)

Just try it at your case

Regards
Azumi

Upvote 0
Assuming Price Column start at Column B --> =LOOKUP(90000000000,B:B) Input The Formula at Colum A or C, and don't input at Column B

Another Formula to retrieve the last occurence :

=VLOOKUP(90000000000,B:B,1)

or

=LOOKUP(2,1/(B:B<>""),B:B)

Just try it at your case

Regards
Azumi

Thanks for your reply Azumi.

Correct me if I am wrong. Formulas =VLOOKUP(90000000000,B:B,1) or =LOOKUP(2,1/(B:B<>""),B:B) will only recall the new data created everyday right?

Maybe let me clarify a bit on my question. I am looking for Maximum value of column B, which originally achieved by Max(B1:B100) function. However, New data will be inserted to B1 everyday such that original B1 will become B2 on next day, so as the other cell Bx becoming B(x+1) next day.

This means B1 itself is a variable (I am not sure if I am correct to describe it in this way). Max() function cannot be applied.