Moving Data Help

wamp

I am very new to the excel world.
I have been tasked to come up with a sheet in excel for logging parts in and out. The problem you ask, well, I can create a sheet just fine, but what I need is more difficult.

I need something to happen when data is entered into the final column. I need the entire row moved to another sheet (database) and that original row to disappear..

Can this even be done?

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Do you want the data to move once the column is completed, once any data at all is put into it, or on a controlled event, like a button push?

Upvote 0
Well, since the data from the first sheet will be moved at diffrent times and not in order, I would think that the completed data would be the best option.

I have the sheet made up already. I put a column at the end which indicates that the row is done.

Upvote 0
Well, before I pop up some code for you, I wonder...

Do you want a button on the spreadsheet that will do something like "Move all completed rows to another workbook"?

Or

Do you want the row to automatically move once the "completed" column indicates completion?

The first one is easy, the second one...I'm not sure.

Josh

Upvote 0
The first option I think would be best.. I like that idea. I am tyring to learn all this stuff and looking on this site for books and stuff. It is very interasting stuff!

Upvote 0
Ok, you can put this macro in your Personal.xls and then either create a button on your toolbar, or run it from your Tools->Macros menu. I couldn't get it to work from a button on the sheet, however.

Sub DeleteRowsWacky()

Dim intRow As Integer
Sheets("Stuff").Select

Range("a1").Select 'This is assuming that the rows will always have data in Column A
Selection.End(xlDown).Select
intEndRow = ActiveCell.Row + 1