Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Larger Cells Required !

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    133
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I need to find a way displaying more than the standard 255? characters in a cell. Some cell entries can be upwards of 1000 characters. Would a userform be the answer and if so how? eg lets say cell a1 holds the data is it possible to display a userform when only this cell is activated, then the same form is displayed again with different data when cell a2 is activated - help !!!

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ipswich, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    136
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Would merging 4 cells with a colums width of 255 help, this would enable you to display more than 255 chars

  3. #3
    Board Regular sen_edp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hellas
    Posts
    555
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    get excel 2000 !

    the limit is 32000


  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-07 06:33, sen_edp wrote:
    get excel 2000 !

    the limit is 32000
    Yeah, the same limit for Excel 97.

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-07 06:12, Nigel Martin wrote:
    I need to find a way displaying more than the standard 255? characters in a cell. Some cell entries can be upwards of 1000 characters. Would a userform be the answer and if so how? eg lets say cell a1 holds the data is it possible to display a userform when only this cell is activated, then the same form is displayed again with different data when cell a2 is activated - help !!!
    You can display 1,024 characters in a cell. See http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q156881.

  6. #6
    Board Regular sen_edp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hellas
    Posts
    555
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


    MARK IS ABSOLUTELY CORRECT !
    YOU CAN PUT 32K CHARS FOR CALCULATIONS BUT
    EXCEL CAN DISPLAY ONLY 1024 CHARS IN A CELL.



    [ This Message was edited by: sen_edp on 2002-05-07 13:56 ]

    [ This Message was edited by: sen_edp on 2002-05-07 23:03 ]

    [ This Message was edited by: sen_edp on 2002-05-07 23:16 ]

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •