Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Please Help, I need a macro to import data conditionally

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Please Help, I'm a newbie when it comes to excel so if someone could help it would be of great help. I need a macro to import data conditionally from one file to another based on contents of more than one column. I need to set up an excel file that will auto update based on raw data entered and import only the rows that contain a specific number in either of two columns.

MrExcel MVP
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

On 2002-05-08 05:32, biodand wrote:
    Please Help, I'm a newbie when it comes to excel so if someone could help it would be of great help. I need a macro to import data conditionally from one file to another based on contents of more than one column. I need to set up an excel file that will auto update based on raw data entered and import only the rows that contain a specific number in either of two columns.
    Have a look at the Help file for Query (MSQuery), let me know if it's the sort of thing you need and how we acn help from there.

I use it quite a lot to conditionally import from Access/Excel/CSV/Oracle (you get the picture). I think it's exactly what you need.
    "Have a good time......all the time"
    Ian Mac

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I agree with Ian:
    I use MS query to develop workbooks that query over 2500 Oracle tables in our database. I am usually automating them for use by database challenged individuals. MS Query is a great tool for importing directly into Excel, with many options available for parameters and criteria. Note: Learn to write the queries in design mode so as not to depend on the wizard

[ This Message was edited by: lenze on 2002-05-08 07:02 ]

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)