Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Copy Internet pages into excel

  1. #1
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Arggghhhh....

    This is what i want to happen when i start a macro.

    Open Internet explorer
    goto http:\www.something.com
    copy part of a text
    paste it in excel.

    I have to do this manually on 15 different pages each day...

    Can someone help me plz...plz

    "Beginner!"

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


    Open Internet explorer
    goto http:\www.something.com
    copy part of a text
    paste it in excel.
    Questions:

    1. Can do
    2. Can do
    3. How do you determine what text to copy? It's going to be very difficult to do something that doesn't involve selecting the whole page. (read "nigh impossible" for "very difficult")
    4. Can do

  3. #3
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thx..

    But the problem remains...

    i don't know how to do this.

    Instead of copying part of the text on WWW, i could copy all, paste it into a different page and then copy the part that i need.

    If u could type the whole macro text I would be



  4. #4
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is one more problem...

    On the page where I copy from the files are not always updated.. have u got an idea on how to give the user a message when there is no file to recive..


  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  6. #6
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks

    Trying to figure out that code...hmmm...

    I think i gonna use a couple of days on this one.....

    See ya...

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Mark O'Brien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    3,530
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Remember to post here if anything is really stumping you.

    Have a nice day. Yawl.



  8. #8
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    366
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Dice -

    I'm not sure if this is what you need, in that you didn't give specifics in your original post, but Microsoft offers a Web connectivity kit that 'extensively details how to use Excel with the Web and vice versa and includes sample Excel and HTML files to also achieve this goal'.

    It can be downloaded free at http://office.microsoft.com/download.../webcnkit.aspx

    Hope that helps

    ~Thomas

  9. #9
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Perfect........



    This is what I was looking for...... Lovely......

    Thank you....

  10. #10
    New Member Dice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Here is another problem...
    (they never seem to end)

    The files I download from the internet is not always there.

    When I run a macro that updates all the files, the macro stops if one of the files are missing.

    I would rather have it to give me a message saying "The file something.txt is not updated yet".

    I would also like to make a choice when this message appear.

    Something like "Continue" and "Stop"

    Can you help me whith this one??



Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •