Add numbers of rows according to cell value

CutandPaste01

I've got a spreadsheet where the user enters information about an organisation including one cell where they enter the total number of employees. This is on one worksheet "Organisation"
I then want them to enter information about each employee on another Worksheet "Employees". This information will be in rows and only numbers will be stored:
Employee1:Info1:Info2:Info3
Employee2:Ino1:Info2:Info3
and so on.

At the bottom of each column I want to add the totals. I don't need to pull in any info about the employee as the user can overtype Employee1 etc.

What I want to do is after entering the number of employees in the cell I want the same number of rows to be automatically generated so that there is a row for each employee. This could be done from a button.

I'm totally new to Excel VBA so any help would be appreciated!

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
No need for a button...Try the following:

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim myRw As Long
myRw = 1 'change this row number where you prefer insert (repost if variable)
'Set range below for range where # employees will be entered
On Error GoTo 1 'error trapper, in case of text entry
If Not Intersect(Target, [a3:a65536]) Is Nothing Then _
    Sheets("Employees").Rows(myRw).Resize(Target.Value).Insert
1: End Sub

See the notes after the '. Right-click on your 'organisation' sheet and paste this code. If you enter a number in the cell range a3:a65536, you'll get new rows in your 'employees' sheet equal to the value entered. Hope this helps.

This message was edited by NateO on 2002-05-08 20:02

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply, I'm going to have a go at this. How would I modify your code if I wanted to ensure that:
A) Say I had a formula in one of the columns how can I get that to be copied as well (just row totals).