Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Not enough memory- fixed (well kind of)

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Uni Credit Union
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    For the problem below I cheated completely and simply did a 'paste value' to create a new spreadsheet to refer to, making my 13000 row spreadsheet much less complex. My summary worksheet now refers to this less complex worksheet and it all seems to work nicely (touch wood).

    There's probably a better, more technical way of getting this done- but hey, it works


    I've got a wonderful spreadsheet with lots of sumif functions that link to another spreadsheet... but I don't have enough memory to update outside links (apparently).

    HELP

    Basically I have a 13000 rows (need more coffee) spreadsheet with all our member details on it that I need to link to in order to nicely summarise the material.

    Any ideas greatly appreciated.

    [ This Message was edited by: AmberJo on 2002-05-08 17:36 ]

    [ This Message was edited by: AmberJo on 2002-05-08 21:21 ]

    [ This Message was edited by: AmberJo on 2002-05-12 17:57 ]

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA USA
    Posts
    327
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wait a minute, you said 13,000 columns? Are you sure about that?

    James



  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Millbank, London, UK
    Posts
    1,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so you have a summary sheet that has lots of SUMIFs on it, relating to a 13,000 row sheet somewhere else ?

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver BC , Canada
    Posts
    6,259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Could a Pivot Table instead of SumIf's be a solution ?
    What type of database are you using for the source ?

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    20 Minutes outside Manhattan
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Buy more RAM.

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,184
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi

    AmberJo RAM or correctly memory does not always solve issues but can help..

    what spec PC just chip and memory. can i ask about windows and excel version?

    Free Excel based Web Toolbar available here.

    Jack in the UK
    J & R Excel Solutions
    "making Excel work for you"

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver BC , Canada
    Posts
    6,259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I had the same problem on my PC that has 512 memory. I had a huge number of formulas pointing all over the place to sum data from a large data-structure. These problems were elimated when I went to using Pivot Tables. If your data source is mdb or excel based this setup can be fairly straight forward. Other data sources are a bit more complicated as you need to set up a OBDC drivers .. permissions etc.
    What is your data source ?

    _________________
    NOTE: Testing performed on Win2K utilizing Office 2000. Solutions may need tweaking for other versions.

    [ This Message was edited by: Nimrod on 2002-05-10 12:07 ]

    [ This Message was edited by: Nimrod on 2002-05-10 12:09 ]

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •