Formulas within formulas

Tich

Hi, I've been using excel for a while but have been self taught, so I don't know all the lingo and in's and out's. I'm having a big problem creating a formula that's based on other formulae. Please help! I've tested each formula on their own, and they work, but I now want to add each formula together to make a total sum and it's not working. I keep getting the #VALUE! message, but it's not telling me what to change. There are a lot of brackets, etc, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong! Is there anybody who can help me? Do I have to type the formulae in this message to get help?

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
There are lots who can and will help you. Of course it would help if you would post what you've done so far so we can see where to start.

Upvote 0
On 2002-05-08 21:08, Tich wrote:
Hi, I've been using excel for a while but have been self taught, so I don't know all the lingo and in's and out's. I'm having a big problem creating a formula that's based on other formulae. Please help! I've tested each formula on their own, and they work, but I now want to add each formula together to make a total sum and it's not working. I keep getting the #VALUE! message, but it's not telling me what to change. There are a lot of brackets, etc, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong! Is there anybody who can help me? Do I have to type the formulae in this message to get help?

You need to explain a bit about the real problem you face, i.e. mention what is in what column/row/cells what you'd like out of the data and what the expected results might be.

if you can provide this I'm sure we can help.

Upvote 0
On 2002-05-08 21:08, Tich wrote:

Excel's Help topics contain a wealth of information. I recommend that you look at the topic...

"About multiple functions within functions, or nesting"