query on a network

ce0989

I am attempting to set up a DSN and query from Excel to an Oracle database. The problem I am fighting is where the DSN and .dqy need to be saved. At this point, if I set up a DSN and a copy of the .dqy then it works. I would like to be to just set it up on the server once but I don't know how. I'm new to the Excel part so perhaps I'm missing something basic?

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
Thanks for the suggestion, but the information did not address how to direct the query to a dsn on the server. If I create the query and/or dsn on a client machine, it remains specific to that machine. Many of the users on this system are not in the same city, so going around to install them is not a viable option. Is there a way to make the dsn and .dqy point to a server?

Upvote 0
I've done similar things to an access an SQLServer database using the connection string and ADO.

For an access example:

strConnect = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & _
"Data Source=\mps-rfiDatabaseProd_Data.mdb;" & _
"Persist Security Info = False"

I'm sure you can find something similar for Oracle. Probably would be better to surf some of the Oracle message boards or check out Microsoft's ADO information at support.microsoft.com

Good luck,

K

Upvote 0
On 2002-05-09 11:44, ce0989 wrote:
Thanks for the suggestion, but the information did not address how to direct the query to a dsn on the server. If I create the query and/or dsn on a client machine, it remains specific to that machine. Many of the users on this system are not in the same city, so going around to install them is not a viable option. Is there a way to make the dsn and .dqy point to a server?