.FormulaArray to insert array formula within a table

jemmell

Hello all,

I am in the process of writing a good-sized macro to automate the production of a particular report, so that all of the additional columns, pivot tables and other analysis drawing from data brought over from another report on a monthly basis can effortlessly be set up without the individual needing extensive knowledge of excel. I have only been using macros for a couple of days, but consider myself to otherwise be a strong excel user. I have also taken a formal class in Visual Basic some years ago, and although I am new to VBA in Excel I am quite comfortable working in it so far.

The issue I have run into relates to using .FormulaArray to populate a column (actually, columns) inside a table. The goal is to get Excel to drop a huge array formula into each row within the last column of the table. I have of course already run into the error for trying to use more than 256 characters (can't remember the specific error code - might be the same one), but have found the .Replace work-around and hopefully should be good there. The main issue appears to be that apparently you can't use .FormulaArray if you want to insert the array formula into an already-named range, unless the range you are trying to insert the array formula into is the entire already-defined range ("You have to clear the array range first or change the entire array range at the same time" - http://www.xtremevbtalk.com/showpost.php?p=1285044&postcount=11").