Please help a rookie!

katiekat

Hi, I'm a rookie, and would appreciate help.
my spread sheet looks something like this.
A B
79/6:30am 235/11:30am
The numbers before the forward slash eg: 79 and 235 are blood sugar numbers and after the forward slash are the times they were taken.
I want to develop a formula so that when the blood sugar numbers are below 80 the cell is red and when numbers are over 180 the cell is blue. I'm finding it difficult to find a formula that will change the cell color based on numbers before the slash and ignore the ones after it. Thanks

Excel Facts

Using Function Arguments with nested formulas
If writing INDEX in Func. Arguments, type MATCH(. Use the mouse to click inside MATCH in the formula bar. Dialog switches to MATCH.
On 2002-05-09 20:21, katiekat wrote:
Hi, I'm a rookie, and would appreciate help.
my spread sheet looks something like this.
A B
79/6:30am 235/11:30am
The numbers before the forward slash eg: 79 and 235 are blood sugar numbers and after the forward slash are the times they were taken.
I want to develop a formula so that when the blood sugar numbers are below 80 the cell is red and when numbers are over 180 the cell is blue. I'm finding it difficult to find a formula that will change the cell color based on numbers before the slash and ignore the ones after it. Thanks

If the blood pressure readings are in cells A1 and B1
and the lower and upper limits of interest are incells A2 and A3
then use the following Conditional formula for cells A1 and B1
Condition1 ... Formula is:
=LEFT(A1,FIND("/",A1,1)-1)+0<A2 ...
Format|Pattern -- color --> 'red'

Condition2 ... Formula is:
=LEFT(A1,FIND("/",A1,1)-1)+0>A3 ...
Format|Pattern -- color --> 'blue'

Please post back if it works for you ... otherwise explain a little further and let us take it from there!

This message was edited by Yogi Anand on 2003-01-19 17:17

Upvote 0