Tell Excel to Add IF a $ amount or multiply and insert value

chrislrob

Hi all,

I am a real estate broker that sometimes leases space that escalates each year at a percentage of rent, for example, 3% per year but sometimes the rent escalates each year at a certain dollar amount, for example $0.50 per year.

Is there a formula that will allow me to simply enter either a $ amount or a % amount in a cell and have another cell automatically add the sum if it is a $ amount or multiply the sum if it is a percentage amount?

We make a lot of errors in the office because we manually change the cells as needed. I would love to have a single sheet that let me automatically calculate both.

Thanks for your help! I know I'll never be able to help anyone here, but I'm pretty handy around the office!

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
If it's safe to assume your % increase is always less than 100% and your $ increase is always greater than $1 you could use the following:

IF(B1<1,B1*A1,B1)+A1

where your current rent is in A1 and your increase amount is in B1

Upvote 0
On 2002-02-27 10:34, chrislrob wrote:
Hi all,

I am a real estate broker that sometimes leases space that escalates each year at a percentage of rent, for example, 3% per year but sometimes the rent escalates each year at a certain dollar amount, for example $0.50 per year.

Is there a formula that will allow me to simply enter either a $ amount or a % amount in a cell and have another cell automatically add the sum if it is a $ amount or multiply the sum if it is a percentage amount?

We make a lot of errors in the office because we manually change the cells as needed. I would love to have a single sheet that let me automatically calculate both.