Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Tell Excel to Add IF a $ amount or multiply and insert value

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi all,

I am a real estate broker that sometimes leases space that escalates each year at a percentage of rent, for example, 3% per year but sometimes the rent escalates each year at a certain dollar amount, for example $0.50 per year.

Is there a formula that will allow me to simply enter either a $ amount or a % amount in a cell and have another cell automatically add the sum if it is a $ amount or multiply the sum if it is a percentage amount?

We make a lot of errors in the office because we manually change the cells as needed. I would love to have a single sheet that let me automatically calculate both.

Thanks for your help! I know I'll never be able to help anyone here, but I'm pretty handy around the office!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

If it's safe to assume your % increase is always less than 100% and your $ increase is always greater than $1 you could use the following:

IF(B1<1,B1*A1,B1)+A1

where your current rent is in A1 and your increase amount is in B1

Board Regular
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

On 2002-02-27 10:34, chrislrob wrote:
    Hi all,

I am a real estate broker that sometimes leases space that escalates each year at a percentage of rent, for example, 3% per year but sometimes the rent escalates each year at a certain dollar amount, for example $0.50 per year.

Is there a formula that will allow me to simply enter either a $ amount or a % amount in a cell and have another cell automatically add the sum if it is a $ amount or multiply the sum if it is a percentage amount?

We make a lot of errors in the office because we manually change the cells as needed. I would love to have a single sheet that let me automatically calculate both.