Comparing two excel sheets, run time error '1004'

kkmoslephour

Hi guys this is my first post in this forum and I am new to macros, so please any feed back would help a lot :)

I have a couple questions trying to program this, but let me ask them one at a time now. First, I am trying to do a file comparison macros on excel and highlight differences, however ran into a little error while doing this. In the code i have stated which line it is having the problem, I have read online articles and many people say that it is not good practice to use the '.select' so i am suspecting if that is why my error is occurring?

Code:
Option Explicit

Sub Compare()

Dim wb1 As Workbook, wb2 As Workbook
  Dim ws1 As Worksheet, ws2 As Worksheet
  Dim diffB As Boolean
  Dim r As Long, c As Integer, m As Integer, i As Integer
  Dim lr1 As Long, lr2 As Long, lc1 As Integer, lc2 As Integer
  Dim maxR As Long, maxC As Integer, cf1 As String, cf2 As String
  Dim rptWB As Workbook, DiffCount As Long
  Application.ScreenUpdating = False
  Application.StatusBar = "Creating the report..."
  Application.DisplayAlerts = True

Set wb1 = Workbooks.Open("C:\A319")
  Set ws1 = wb1.Worksheets("BuildSheet")
  With ws1.UsedRange
    lr1 = .Rows.Count
    lc1 = .Columns.Count
  End With

Set wb2 = Workbooks.Open("C:\A320")
  Set ws2 = wb2.Worksheets("BuildSheet")
  With ws2.UsedRange
    lr2 = .Rows.Count
    lc2 = .Columns.Count
  End With
  maxR = lr1
  maxC = lc1
  If maxR < lr2 Then maxR = lr2
  If maxC < lc2 Then maxC = lc2
  DiffCount = 0
  For c = 1 To maxC
    For i = 2 To lr1
      diffB = True
      Application.StatusBar = "Comparing cells " & Format(i / maxR, "0 %") & "..."
        For r = 2 To lr2
          cf1 = ""
          cf2 = ""
          On Error Resume Next
          cf1 = ws1.Cells(i, c).FormulaLocal
          cf2 = ws2.Cells(r, c).FormulaLocal
          On Error GoTo 0
          If cf1 = cf2 Then
            diffB = False
            ws1.Cells(i, c).Interior.ColorIndex = 0