Excel Formula

billyc

Hi,

I am a novice to excel. I have provided some mock information below, column A the Grade, B the score, I have calculated the column C using this function =IF(B2:B100>A2:A100,"Exceeding",IF(B2:B100<A2:A100,"Below",IF(B2:B100=A2:A100,"At")))
However, my issue is that I need to display the data in column C on a separate sheet. I cannot have it displayed on this sheet next to column B as the data is extensive in reality and this column will confuse the users. So my question is what formula do I need so that I can generate the column C information in sheet 2. Hope this is clear.

Thanks

A B C
Grade Score
1 3 Exceeding
1 1 At
1 1 At
2 1 Below
2 2 At
1 0 Below

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Given in sheet1:

Excel 2010
AB
1GradeScore
billycSheet1

Then in sheet2 we have:

Excel 2010
A
1Result
2Exceeding
3At
4At
5Below
6At
7Below
billycSheet2

Formula is =IF(billycSheet1!A2>billycSheet1!B2,"Below",IF(billycSheet1!A2=billycSheet1!B2,"At","Exceeding"))

Would that be close to what you needed?

Upvote 0
Thank you so much, not sure if I completely understand the formula but it definitely works so thank you again!

Upvote 0
You are most welcome.
Glad it works for you.
The formula is simple, it uses the format IF(logical_test, value_if_true,Value_if_false)
Here the logical test is A2 > B2
1- IF A2> B2 then it will return "below" (that is the first part of the IF)
2- Then IF (again) A2 = B2, then it will return "At".
3- The last statement is not needed, as the only thing remaining is A2 < B2, we need just type the value if true being "exceeding".

Hope this clarify things a bit.

Upvote 0