Mouseover text box popup

GregWood

Hi there,

I have a number of images (icons) on a excel worksheet. What I'm looking for is when a person's mouse passes over the image a text box pops up to give the person a brief description of the image. When the mouse move off the image the textbox should disappear. The image already has a macro assigned to it, which when the person clicks on the image it opens another worksheet.

I'm new to macros and I'm completely stuck. Please could someone assist with some code and also a description of how to implement the code.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
Also, here is a little more information about how you would implement the code to create the tooltips. I might do something like this. Place this code in Module1:
Code:
Sub addtooltip()
    Dim shp As Shape
    For Each shp In ActiveSheet.Shapes
        ActiveSheet.Hyperlinks.Add shp, "", "", ScreenTip:="Hello from " & shp.Name
    Next shp
End Sub
Run this subroutine. This will tell you the name of all of the pictures on your sheet. Then add this code to Module1:
Code:
Sub othertooltips()
    Dim shp As Shape
    Dim tipstring As String
    For Each shp In ActiveSheet.Shapes
        tipstring = ""
        If shp.Name = "Picture 1" Then
            tipstring = "Click here to do A"
        ElseIf shp.Name = "Picture 2" Then
            tipstring = "Click here to do B"
        ElseIf shp.Name = "Picture 3" Then
            tipstring = "Click here to do C"
        ElseIf shp.Name = "Picture 4" Then
            tipstring = "Click here to do D"
        End If
        If tipstring <> "" Then
            ActiveSheet.Hyperlinks.Add shp, "", "", ScreenTip:=tipstring
        End If
    Next shp
End Sub
Once you run this code, the tooltips you have specified will be added to each image. Hopefully this is enough information to get you headed in the right direction.

Upvote 0