Lock/Exclude in Binary Constraint

laxin

I am using the binary constraint for an optimization tool. Currently am trying to include a feature that can either lock in a certain row during the optimization or exclude it by either putting an L or an X in a column that will correspond to the set of data within its row. Essentially, if their is an L, the price corresponding to that row will be optimized around, and if their is an X, it will be excluded from the optimization.

Im still new to solver and I don't really know where to start here. If anyone can help me out or point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated!

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
From here you can see that a binary constraint is one that can either take a 1 or a 0. So, you can keep your L / X, but use them in a separate cell. In other words, you need two cells: One, say A1, that holds the binary constraint (1 or 0), and in B1, a formula like

=IF(A1=1,"L","X")

Upvote 0
From here you can see that a binary constraint is one that can either take a 1 or a 0. So, you can keep your L / X, but use them in a separate cell. In other words, you need two cells: One, say A1, that holds the binary constraint (1 or 0), and in B1, a formula like

=IF(A1=1,"L","X")

Will that be factored in by solver during the operation? Thats what I need ... Im not sure its that simple, but Im no expert

Upvote 0
Will that be factored in by solver during the operation? Thats what I need ... Im not sure its that simple, but Im no expert

Yes, if you set A1 to be a binary constraint, it will be used by Solver, and if your model depends on B1, then the formulas will autocalculate and Solver will see that.

Upvote 0

=IF(A1=1,"L","X")