VLOOKUP with condition

AnWeNeT

Well I have one question:

I have a master list (I call it that way) of ID, User name, Post Office (email world) - it is on sheet1. Now on my sheet2 I am trying to, no I am doing =VLOOKUP(A:A,sheet1!users,2,FALSE). So I match ID in A:A on sheet2 (Ohh yeah sheet2 has IDs listed - top to bottom) with users list from sheet1. It works... but there is a little twist to the story.... Multiple Post Offices allow the same ID (but unique within Post Office), therefore my VLOOKUP function picks first matching name from the top. Now in some cases IDs do not match the names... In this case I am asking administrators to enter Post Office name in sheet2 (B2). I am thinking that my formula should match ID only if B2 matches the users Post Office (C column in sheet1!users).
I know I am sitting at front of very powerful application.. but functions and programming are not my strong side.

Thanks for any suggestions and ideas.

Desperate
Andrew.

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
Sounds like you need to concatenate the ID and PostOffice so that you get unique ID & Post office combinations & then do your vlookup based on your new concatenated field.

Upvote 0
On 2002-02-28 08:11, AnWeNeT wrote: