Macro causes password protection in workbook

ACG

I have a workbook that has a button with the following code - when I execute the code, the workbook is saved with a modification password (as if you were to go into File > Save As > Tools > General Options > Password to Open for file sharing and type in the password of bp02acg). This password is being used in my macro to share the workbook but I don't want the user to have to input a password everytime it is opened. Can anyone help please? Sorry, I'm by no means a VB expert!!!

Thank you!

Code:

Public CurrentFilename As String
Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
[A1].Activate
Call UnprotectSharing
Call PrintWorksheet
Call ProtectSharing
End Sub

Sub UnprotectSharing()
Dim Password As String
Password = "bp02acg"
ActiveWorkbook.UnprotectSharing Password
End Sub
Sub ProtectSharing()
Dim Password As String
Password = "bp02acg"
ActiveWorkbook.ProtectSharing Filename:=CurrentFilename, Password:=Password
End Sub

Sub PrintWorksheet()
'
' PrintWorksheet Macro
' Macro recorded 2/18/2002 by Anita Grimes
'

'
On Error Resume Next
CurrentFilename = ActiveWorkbook.FullName
[A3].Activate
Columns("A:B").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
Columns("F:G").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
Columns("R:R").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
Columns("U:U").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
ActiveSheet.PageSetup.PrintArea = "$C$1:$AB$51"
ActiveWindow.SelectedSheets.PrintOut Copies:=1, Collate:=True
Cells.Select
Range("C1").Activate
Selection.EntireColumn.Hidden = False
Columns("V:V").EntireColumn.Hidden = True
End Sub

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Perhaps if you disable then enable the protection upon opening the file. Try adding the following to your array of macros:

Private Sub auto_open()
Application.Run ("UnprotectSharing")
Application.Run ("ProtectSharing")
End Sub

Hope this helps. Cheers,

Nate

Upvote 0