Adding a comment to Conditional Formatting via VBA

ctbanker

Hi All,

I'm very new to the VBA world and don't have much experience with coding. I want to do the following, but am not sure how to:

I have a column called "Classification", and if there is any text (example "Fee" or "Due Diligence") in a cell, I want a comment ("please fill either choose Loan Proceeds or Prepaid Deposit") to pop-up at the corresponding cell under "Paid From". I have Conditional Formatting set-up to make the cell red when the corresponding "Classification" cell is occupied, but that doesn't clearly state what I need done (and isn't as cool either).

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Please refer to a sample worksheet below...
Fees Breakdown
ClassificationPaid From:ItemDispositionAmount
FeeLoan ProceedsSBA Guarantee FeeBank Controlled Account 94,256.50
Due DiligencePrepaid DepositAppraisalGeneral Ledger Account 12,000.00
FeeLoan ProceedsUCC Search / Filing FeeBank Controlled Account 120.00
Due DiligencePrepaid DepositEnvironmentalGeneral Ledger Account 3,900.00
FeeLoan ProceedsSBA Loan Packaging FeeBank Controlled Account 2,500.00
FeePrepaid DepositFlood Determination FeeBank Controlled Account 67.50
FeeLoan ProceedsLoan Closing FeeCustomer Refund 6,569.00
FeeCOMMENT HERE 499.75
Total 119,912.75

<tbody>
</tbody><colgroup><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup>

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
not a VBA method, nor a comment box, but a simple formula.

assuming that the first row of data is in row 3;

=IF($A3<>"","please fill either choose Loan Proceeds or Prepaid Deposit","")

if you enter that and copy it down the column, it will return your comment if column a has anything in it, or remain blank if column A is blank.

Hope that may be of some use?