Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

  1. #1
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

     
    Hi there,

    Just wondering if anyone can help me.

    I have an excel report that uses activex comboboxes and triggers VBA when they are changed.

    The issue I have is that since MS rolled out an update earlier in the year, the report runs fine on some of the machines in my organisation, but doesn't on others...

    Does anyone know of any setting or anything like that that I can change to see if it works? Or are there any temp files to be deleted or anything at all...it really is a hindrance for me at the moment as the report was used extensively for decision making around the org.

    Thanks in advance,

    E

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    RoryA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    30,527
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running


  3. #3
    Board Regular ranman256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    1,174
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

    Is EVERYONE using the same version of Excel?

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

    Quote Originally Posted by RoryA View Post

    Thanks, but when I try to install the fix for that, it says that no office products are installed for this fix!

    I'm at a loss here....my head is officially wrecked!

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    RoryA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    30,527
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

    Which fix are you trying to run and which version do you have? You can simply delete the .exd files yourself if all else fails, but you do have to do it on all the machines. Better still, replace the activex with Form controls or data validation dropdowns. ActiveX controls on worksheets have always been unstable.

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Like totally RAD man
    Colin Legg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

    If the problematic update was only rolled out on some machines then, if a user on one of those machines saves a workbook, users on machines without the update won't be able to use that workbook.

    So basically, if all machines have the update, then you should be able to run the fix Rory suggested on all machines and then all will be OK.
    If only some machines have the update then the fix won't be any good. You'll need to replace the ActiveX controls with Forms controls (as Rory suggested too). The caveat is that, if a workbook was last saved by a user with the update installed, the ActiveX controls in that workbook can only be deleted by a user on a machine where the update is installed.

    I don't know if I explained that particularly well; I blogged a more verbose version here.

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    203
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Activex Combobox - VBA Code not running

      
    Quote Originally Posted by RoryA View Post
    Which fix are you trying to run and which version do you have? You can simply delete the .exd files yourself if all else fails, but you do have to do it on all the machines. Better still, replace the activex with Form controls or data validation dropdowns. ActiveX controls on worksheets have always been unstable.

    I have already deleted the .exd files on these machines, but it still won't work...

    I'll just re-engineer the report to use form controls as you have said...I just didn't want to have to do this as it is quite a large report and are a lot of triggers.

    Thanks

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 

 
DMCA.com