Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    C8 = "20" , K8 = "$1000" , K22 = "$2000"
    if c3 = "=c8" , THEN c2 = k8 = "$1000"
    if c3 = "=c22" , then c2 = k22 = "$2000"
    so if i just need to change c3 value , then c2 will follow
    is this possible?
    i want the formula in C2 cell
    thank you

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Andrew Poulsom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    73,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Does this work for you?

    =IF( C3=C8,K8,IF(C3=C22,K22,"None"))
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Poulsom View Post
    Does this work for you?

    =IF( C3=C8,K8,IF(C3=C22,K22,"None"))
    thanks for the reply andrew
    but this wont work if i change c3 to another value (formula)
    i want c3 to be flexible to any value (formula)
    so i just need to change c3 value , then c2 will follow

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Andrew Poulsom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    73,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Sorry, I don't understand. In what way doesn't the result of the formula change if C3 changes?
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Poulsom View Post
    Sorry, I don't understand. In what way doesn't the result of the formula change if C3 changes?
    what if c3 = c99 ? c2 result would be "None" right? and i dont want that.
    i want c3 to be flexible, even it's c100 , c958 , c1953, etc.. so whatever c3 value, c2 will follow.
    sorry cant explain it very well

    maybe i can say that i want to change the column of the formula from c3 but keep the row

  6. #6
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Andrew Poulsom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    73,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    What formulas would you want for C99, C100, C958 etc?
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Poulsom View Post
    What formulas would you want for C99, C100, C958 etc?
    i want formula in c2 cell, if c3 is c99 or c100 or c958 or else

    C# = "20" , K# = "$1000"
    if c3 = "=c#" , THEN c2 = k# = "$1000"
    (# can be any row number)
    i want the formula for c2

  8. #8
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Andrew Poulsom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    73,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Is this what you want?

    =INDEX(K4:K1000,MATCH(C3,C4:C1000,FALSE))
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    28
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Poulsom View Post
    Is this what you want?

    =INDEX(K4:K1000,MATCH(C3,C4:C1000,FALSE))
    Thanks Andrew !! ure the man.
    if i have furthur quiestion can i post it here or should i make anothre thread?

    is it possible to make a formula by colour of a cell?
    if there is yellow cell in c4:c1000 , then c3 = the value off the yellow cell
    or is there something i can use to triger value of a specific cell beside colouring it

  10. #10
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Andrew Poulsom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    73,092
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Change The ROW / COLUMN from a formula

    You would need VBA to do that. This may help you:

    Color Functions In Excel
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •