Go to a Worksheet assigned in a Cell in another Workbook using VBA

AyuHI

Hi, I've been trying to solve a VBA problem but without success so far. I need to execute a great number of copy&paste commands from one workbook (let's call it MainDatabase) to another Workbook (called i.e. Unit 1) in several sheets for each month (thus, 12 in total). The MainDatabase has many worksheets from which I want to select a particular sheet (named "Unit 1"), copy data from that sheet and paste in several sheets of the "Unit 1" workbook. I'm basically separating data from a bigger database. I have to repeat this process for several workbooks (Unit 2, Unit 3, Unit 4, and so on) (always doing the same operations, but extracting from different sheets of MainDatabase, each called Unit 2, Unit 3, etc).

I'm new to VBA, and so doing research, I've succeed in creating a code which copies&pastes the way I need, provided I input inside the code the name of the specific sheet I want to be opened in MainDatabase (I have to change Unit 1 to the Unit Name I need every time inside the code), and also I always have to copy the code to every new "Unit #" Workbook to execute.

I would like to create a 'Master' Workbook (separated from MainDatabase and Unit # Workbooks) containing the code, and in a particular cell, say "B5", write the name of the Worksheet the code must go to in Main Database. Say, write "Unit 7" in cell B5 and run the code, and thus it will go to Unit 7 worksheet in MainDatabase and paste to Unit 7 Workbook.

Is this possible?

Here's what I have so far (this Copy&Paste routine repeats for each month inside code, but the main repeatable unit is as follows):

Sub MacroCopyInformation()

ThisWorkbook.Activate 'starts in Unit 1 Workbook - Would like to run from a separate File, and open a "cell B5" <name in="" cell="" a1="">Workbook

'MONTH:JULY
'1ST COPY ROUTINE
Windows("MainDatabase.xls").Activate