Inventory Help!

sean2minu

Hello Everyone!

I'm a beginner in Excel and I'm trying to figure out how to create a formula for my company's inventory spreadsheet.

-Let's say we have 2 sheets: "Master Inventory" and "Inventory IN/OUT"
-The sheet "Inventory IN/OUT" contains drop down menus for SKU type selection. (Lets just say selections are Product A, Product B, Product C, etc.), there are also 2 columns listed "Inventory In" and "Inventory Out". The purpose of this sheet is to record how inventory is moved in and out.
-The sheet "Master Inventory" has several columns (Warehouse, E-commerce, Container #1, Container #2 and Total Inventory), each column represents the inventory in those respective locations. The Total Inventory column, obviously, is the total of all inventory regardless of location.

What I want to do is set a formula that will utilize the data selected in the drop down menu in sheet "Inventory IN/OUT" to automatically assign the addition or subtraction of inventory to the corresponding SKU's "Total Inventory" column located on the sheet "Master Inventory". I've been researching what would be the best formula for me to do this, but with the complexity of utilizing a drop down menu (which is already set-up with 21 options of SKU #'s) and having whatever data is input into the "Inventory In" and "Inventory Out" columns to automatically adjust the Total Inventory from another sheet... has me stumped...

Please help me! Should I use IF statements? Conditional Formatting? I'm so lost!

Thank you in advance!!

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Hi sean2miu,

Welcome to the forum.