Using Loops to Run Through Groups of Data

canada01

Hello,

I am new to VBA and am learning as I go for a work project.
I need to cycle through groups of data (anywhere from 1-319 lines long in a file with 155,000+ lines of data) and perform some operations on them.

I am looking for recommendations on how to create a loop (looking at For/Each/Next loops right now) that will look at the information in column A (data-acq. session ID) to define each session as a "group" of data, so that the actions thereafter are only performed on that group, and not on the entire sheet. An example of the data is screenshot-ed below.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Session IDVTM IndexParameter NameValue
PD143148
0Position0
PD1431481Speed34
PD1431482Odometer9110
PD1431483Position1
PD1431484Odometer9156
PD1431485Speed56
PD1431486Speed72
PD1431487Position0
PD1431488Odometer9234
PD1431489Position1
PD129834

<tbody>
</tbody>
0Odometer324
PD129834

<tbody>
</tbody>
1Odometer329
PD129834

<tbody>
</tbody>
2Position1
PD129834

<tbody>
</tbody>
3Speed100

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Hi canada01,

Welcome to the MrExcel Board.

I am not sure I am following your requirement, so to rephrase using your sample above.

You would like to see the above data as two separate groups that you could run a loop on that would either loop through group PD143148 or group PD129834.

igold

Upvote 0
Hi igold,

Yes, that's mostly correct. I would like the loop to run through group PD143148 and then when it is complete, run in group PD129834, etc.

Upvote 0
Try this:-
NB:- See code notes !!!

Code:
[COLOR="Navy"]Sub[/COLOR] MG21Mar15
[COLOR="Navy"]Dim[/COLOR] Rng [COLOR="Navy"]As[/COLOR] Range, Dn [COLOR="Navy"]As[/COLOR] Range, n [COLOR="Navy"]As[/COLOR] [COLOR="Navy"]Long[/COLOR]
[COLOR="Navy"]Set[/COLOR] Rng = Range(Range("A2"), Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp))