Lookup Formula Help

gronji2004

Hello,

I am having an issue with a lookup formula returning the wrong value, please see below:

7ob0lNI.jpg

Basically in cell F43 (highlighted), I want to return the value of the cell in J:J that has a 1 next to it on the right hand side. Some of them work, some return the completely wrong value as has done above. What am I doing wrong?

As you can see below, the cell is returning 40, when it should be returning 30 (J27) as there is a "1" in the K27 next to it, and the formula is looking for value "1" to return J:J?

Im not a complete noob at excel, but im not super advanced either, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Alex

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
Hi, welcome to the board!

LOOKUP() requires the values in column K to be sorted in ascending order. You could try this instead:

=INDEX(J:J,MATCH(1,K:K,0))

Upvote 0
try
Code:
=INDEX(J:J,MATCH(1,K:K,0))

Upvote 0
Hi Guys,

Having another issue with something similar. I've done the above using "=INDEX(J:J,MATCH(1,K:K,0))) and that returns the correct number. However with the formula that its set up, how do I get the cell to display 0 if that number is negative? I've tried using a if forumla after the above formula but get a circular reference warning.

Any ideas?

Cheers,
Alex

Upvote 0
Thanks for your help!

I'm still working on the same document. On another page, I've got a cell that is locked and displays something from another sheet depending on the contents of another cell. However the cell is locked like I need it to be.

Is there way of having a override button, EG if the contents of another cell has sometihng in it, it replaces it with that contents, if not it still keeps the original? See below:

7uSDVPfoB.png