Macro to prep a CSV file - data selection, manipulation, and saving with dynamic name

Spiritseeker

Hi all,

I am a VBA novice; I spent many hours today watching Wise Owl tutorials (which I highly recommend), but need a working macro soon, and must concede that I think this is a bit beyond my beginner status. I've tried to lay out my requirements in a way that I think explains what I need, based on the tutorials I watched, and would be very grateful for help in coming up with this macro.

Up front info about what I am trying to do:

I need a macro to prep a file for csv upload which will contain rows with an identifier ("H" for header or "L" for line) in column A.
H rows will contain data from column A to AA and L rows will contain data from column A to I only

Every cell from column A to AE contains a formula, down to row 40. The user can add rows by copying down the formulas, and if they do this will likely end up doing so for more rows than actually needed. The user may input data on 2 rows, or 2000 rows etc - it's as needed.

I would like to include a Macro button on row 1 (users are basic excel users – no Macro knowledge, hence the button to click to run the macro), which is a row that will be deleted as part of the macro – will that cause a problem?

The data to end up in the final CSV file to be uploaded will be a dataset which overall has data in columns A to AA, for all rows with an H or an L in column A. Because the L rows only contain data from column A to I, but the overall dataset goes to column AA, my test files show that the csv file has commas on the rows with L in column A representing blank cells from columns J to AA. These need to be deleted prior to saving the CSV, as the upload process will not accept them and expects the L rows to finish at column I.

The macro enabled sheet will be password protected to be read only, to ensure that it isn’t accidentally saved over by the user.

What I need the Macro to actually do: