WORD Macro for Incrementing a Refernce Number and Renaming File

DanBlooms

Hello everyone,

this is my first post on here and I'm totally new to Word, Macros, and Visual Basic programming, so apologies if I don't know the lingo, or if you spot me doing anything completely noobish.

I do however have some experience with PHP programming and have spotted a few programming similarities already, so I should be able to muddle through.

I have been attempting to put together a Macro but I am hitting a wall.

I am trying to come up with a better system for creating and logging gift vouchers at work.

I have created a Word Template (.dotm) for the gift voucher. On it, there are some details for staff to fill in when then need to create a gift voucher for a customer.

What I need to do is as follows:

1. Staff create a new Word File based on the Gift Voucher Template.
2. The new Gift Voucher Opens and is given a Gift Voucher Reference Number (this number needs to automatically increment each time a staff member creates a new gift voucher)
3. Staff fill in the fields for the customer's name in a text content control.
4. The rest of the gift voucher details are filled in to complete the form and what I would like ideally is to save the form with a new filename automatically.
5. Ideally, the new filename should be created with this format:
  • uniquereferencenumber-giftvoucher-customername-.docextension
  • so an example would be 0001 Gift Voucher John Hancock.docx

6. So the system I'm trying to create would end up with a folder full of gift vouchers in a list as follows:
  • 0001 Gift Voucher John Hancock.docx
  • 0002 Gift Voucher Bill Gates.docx
  • 0003 Gift Voucher Frank Black.docx
  • 0004 Gift Voucher James May.docx
  • and so on and so forth etc, etc.

I've looked around the web and found some snippets that looked useful and hacked together the following code:

Code:
Sub AutoNew()