SAP script

YounesB3

Board Regular
Hi, I'm new to the SAP GUI scripting and I'd like to understand some line of codes.

Code:
Set SAPGUIAuto = GetObject("SAPGUI")  'Get the SAP GUI Scripting object
Set SAPApp = SAPGUIAuto.GetScriptingEngine 'Get the currently running SAP GUI
Set SAPCon = SAPApp.Children(0) 'Get the first system that is currently connected
Set session = SAPCon.Children(0) 'Get the first session (window) on that connection

If IsObject(WScript) Then
   WScript.ConnectObject session, "on"
   WScript.ConnectObject Application, "on"
End If

The code works, but I'm not sure what it does. Could someone explain line by line?

Also, WScript seems to never be an object, so I'm not sure of the purpose of those last lines.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Hi,

My SAP days were a while ago now but I will see what I can remember.

First, there are several ways to link to an SAP session. Here are some: Scripting with Vbscript against SAPGUI

When you log in to SAP you usually do it via the SAPLogon pad or similar. That is the "real" SAP application. When you are in a client that is really just a screen internal to that. It is a bit like Excel in that regard. You tend to think of the Workbook as the top level object but in fact the Application is a step higher up and all the Workbooks run under it.

So, to use SAP, you need to make a link to the SAPGUI object. I believe the SAPGUI in quotes here: GetObject("SAPGUI") will be located in the registry. That will tell the script which program it needs to look for. That is assigned to the name SAPGUIAuto - it could be any valid name but it has to be the same as the one used in the next statement.

The next line finds an SAP application that is currently running and the answer is given the label SAPApp.