VBA for shared excel on Bloomberg terminal

dyst9

Hi all gurus,

I currently am running a P&L - Trade position excel on my bloomberg terminal. The excel file is linked to bloomberg live quotes and ticker with real time updates to the price and current P&L.

The bloomberg terminal and the rest of the computers in the office are linked via a shared drive.

However, when I try to access the file from another computer through the shared drive, the data are not being displayed on the non-bloomberg computer correctly and all I get are #NAME ? error.

Is there a way where other users are able to access that master file in bloomberg terminal and view the spreadsheet with the figures (at the point in time, I do not need live data) and ticker names on their computers?

Pardon my ignorance as I'm not really a techie or an expert in Excel.

Currently running Windows 10 Pro and Microsoft Office 2016

Appreciate any pointers or solutions!!

Thank you

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
So - the thing about Bloomberg is that any "bdp" or other formulas within Excel that pull Bloomberg information are ONLY accessible when your bloomberg terminal is logged in on that computer....

With that being said, that's one common Bloomberg issue. However, your problem #NAME sounds like the Excel Add-In for Bloomberg is not installed properly, as it is not recognizing your formula. As long as Bloomberg is installed on the computer, you should be able to re-install the Bloomberg Excel Tools by going to your start menu in Win10>Bloomberg>Install Office Add-Ins

Upvote 0
Hi all,

I am working as a commodity trader assistant, and I am facing the exact same problem.

I first thought it was due to Bloomberg not allowing any other computer without the paid licence to visualize the live quotes. So, I replaced the BBG formulas in excel by those from another data source, but unfortunately, the problem happened again.