Many questions:
1) Does this option behave differently in different versions of Excel?

2) Does it matter whether it is on Window 7 or Windows 7 or should it behave the same on both

3) Microsoft Help only explains the feature but offers no assistance on how to permanently deselect it by using one of the options the application comes with

4) For files created in 2010 with links > and then launched in 2016, would this feature behave differently?

I think someone else posted similar questions but didn't generate a response. Thanks ahead of time.
[Doesn't matter the specific workbooks since it is general behavior questions]