MrExcel MVP
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
  3. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello Everyone
Is it possible to have a timer on a VBA message box such that it disappears after a set interval? I have a standard VBA MsgBox informing the user that an action was successful - how can I make the message box disappear (as if Ok was pressed) after 3 seconds? Is this possible? I'm new with VB and am using it in conjuntion with Access 2000.
TIA, Andrew :)

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
You probably would have received a response sooner if this was asked on the Excel Questions board, but at any rate here's one way to do what you want:

Sub Test1()
Dim AckTime As Integer, InfoBox As Object
Set InfoBox = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
AckTime = 3
Select Case InfoBox.Popup("Click OK or do nothing within 3 seconds.", _
AckTime, "This is your Message Box", 0)
Case 1, -1
Exit Sub
End Select
End Sub

Keep in mind that the first time code compiles, it can take a few extra moments, so on the first execution of this macro, it will take longer than 3 seconds for 3 seconds to elapse. Run the code twice and see if the second time around is closer to 3 seconds than the first execution, which it was for me.

Upvote 0
Hi Tom
Thanks for your response. I got your code working if I created a new button that didn't do anything. If I added it to my code then I can't get it to work - the message box opens but it doesn't disappear automatically. I only made a couple of minor modifications to the message box text. I'm not sure what I have done wrong. My code is below if it is any help, and your suggestion has been incorporated towards the very bottom.
Code:
Private Sub DelClass_Click()
Dim Filler1, Filler2, Message, NumRecords, Response     'Temp variables
Filler1 = "are "                                        'Constant for MsgBox text