How long does it take to properly learn VBA?

supdawg

Mods - I hope this is in the right forum. Please feel free to move if needed :)

I've been writing macros for about a total of two months within the past year. I have never written code before, and have never taken a formal programming class (I don't count HTML real programming). And I have never been good at advanced math.

I generally regard myself as a smart guy, but I admit that I am not that creative. My analytical side is way more developed than my creative side. I often struggle mightily writing the most simple code not because I don't know what needs to happen, I simply cannot put to code my thoughts. I get through most of it by being resourceful (here :D ), patient, and having a strong desire to succeed.

In that span I've created some pretty awesome macros to help my team at work. VBA is definitely a means to an end. Thanks to the many here that has helped me tremendously.

Enough babbling by me. VBA is coming to me very slowly. I learn bits and pieces all the time, but I know I cant learn something specifically unless I am tasked to do it. At this rate, it feels like it will be forever before I get comfortable doing it.

How long did it take you guys who didn't have prior programming experience before it all came together for you and "clicked"? Am I just slow, or is it normal for this stuff to take time before you fully understand it?

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
Hi

It took me a couple of years of plugging away with VBA to get really comfortable. Most of what I learned, I learned from this Board (especially answering others' questions) - I think it's a great resource because it can provide you with a problem that needs solving that you can stab away at until it is solved (which goes some way to helping with your comment "but I know I cant learn something specifically unless I am tasked to do it").

Upvote 0