Moving on from Excel VBA to another programming language - what to choose?

xancalagonx

Board Regular
First off I want to thank everyone on this forum for the quick, accurate and friendly replies to the threads that myself (and others of course) have started when we were stuck with VBA programming or otherwise ran into problems while using Excel.

For myself, I'm just a novice when it comes to programming in Excel VBA. With my limited ability to create some simple VBA code I reduce a lot of the workload for myself as well as my co-workers (many whom hardly even use autofilters, never knew pivot-tables existed and VBA coding is entirely unknown). Starting to use and learning VBA code has opened a world of possibilities for me, and I've started putting more effort into the userform parts of it as well to make it easier for co-workers in their daily jobs and easier for new people joining projects. Where I spent hours working with lists of information to crossrefence, compare or link together data, I now spend minutes (though I don't tell anyone, so I have hours I can spend reading up on VBA instead, shhh).

More to the point of the thread though. Having acknowledged the vast possibilities from even the simplest coding in VBA, I've taken an interest towards stepping into the world of programming outside of Excel VBA. Perhaps to make some smaller executables that can handle updating reports on a weekly basis and things like that. I'm sure the possibilities are endless when I start learning the basic, just as learning the basics in Excel VBA opened up a world of possibilities within Excel.

But as I have been reading up on this I find there are a multitude of languages out there. Java, Python, Visual Basic, Visual Basic .NET, C+, C++, C#, so on and so forth. There's so many, and a majority of them seem to have very different languages / syntax. It feels quite overwhelming and there is no way I can, at least not as the novice I am, begin to learn them all.