User form for query and data dump into excel (code included)

Brandon M

Board Regular
Hello all,

I'm trying to create a code in excel vba that will prompt the user to browse for a .mdb file, open a user form allowing them to filter the data in 3 fields (there are 19 total fields) and drop the filtered data into excel along with all 19 of the field names.

Currently I have some of the code done. Right now it prompts the user to search for the file and populates the combo boxes with the correct data. I haven't been able to get much further.

Do all of the subs in the userform need to be private? It seems cumbersome to have to define the connection and the recordset again and again and again in each of the subs.

I do realize that the subs for the combo boxes haven't been coded yet. I'm still working on figuring all of that out.

I'm a rookie at all of this. Any help on what I'm missing would be much appreciated.

Code:
Public Sub UserForm_Initialize()

ChDrive "U:\"
ChDir "U:\Engineering\DesignCommon\VALVETRAIN\SPRING DESIGN AND CALCULATION\VALKIN SPRING MODELS\01-DATA FOR CALCULATION SPECIFIC SPRINGS\SAS"
strDBpath = Application.GetOpenFilename(FileFilter:=strFilt, FilterIndex:=intFilterIndex, Title:=strDialogueFileTitle)

On Error GoTo UserForm_Initialize_Err
    Dim cnn As New ADODB.Connection
    Dim rst As New ADODB.Recordset

cnn.Open "Provider=Microsoft.ace.OLEDB.12.0;" & "Data Source=" & strDBpath

rst.Open "SELECT DISTINCT [PartNumber] FROM [All Data Combined];", _
        cnn, adOpenStatic
    rst.MoveFirst

With Me.Part_Number_Box
        .Clear
        Do
            .AddItem rst![PartNumber]
            rst.MoveNext
        Loop Until rst.EOF
    End With
rst.Close

rst.Open "SELECT DISTINCT [PartName] FROM [All Data Combined];", _
        cnn, adOpenStatic

rst.MoveFirst
      With Me.Part_Name_Box
        .Clear
        Do
            .AddItem rst![PartName]
            rst.MoveNext
        Loop Until rst.EOF
    End With
rst.Close