How to learn MS Access

BizBoy

Board Regular
Hi,

I am new to MS Access. I know nothing about MS Access.
However I want to learn it. I have basic knowledge about (excel) VBA.

Thinking about joining weekend classes for the same.
Could you please advise me how should I proceed.

Location - India.

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
yes, classes, and get the Access for Dummies book. (good reference)
then the BEST is , build an app ,like a classroom with students/work, or a Business with shopping cart/inventory.
and start digging.
Working on a project is the best teacher.

Upvote 0
If I am correct. Working with VBA for excel is more object oriented. Where one needs to play with properties for objects.

In case of MS Access, focus is more on writing quires. Which might look simple at the outset but must be complex once dived further.

Both of my assumptions can be wrong and apology if my post is violating rules.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
In case of MS Access, focus is more on writing quires. Which might look simple at the outset but must be complex once dived further.
Creating queries is just one aspect of Access (though a very powerful one).
VBA is also very big in Access, especially in looking to build applications. VBA is very commonly found with interactive Forms and other processes that you want to automate.

I think both Excel and Access are too big to put into a small, self-contained box like that. A lot of it depends on what you are trying to do, and both have the flexibility to cover quite a range of things.

Upvote 0
When starting out in Access, I believe it is very important to understand Table Structure(s) and design. Look at this white paper on design and you will be better equipped to build your own files.

http://r937.com/relational.html

Upvote 0