moving records to another table based on field value

fingermouse

Board Regular
Hi – I only created my first access database yesterday,so I’m a complete novice.

I have created an Access 2007 database with 2tables: ‘Independent Assurance’ and ‘Independent Assurance - Complete’.

Both tables have identical structures interms of columns/fields. ‘Independent Assurance - Complete’ is currentlytotally blank, apart from the column headers.

I need to automatically copy all records fromthe ‘Independent Assurance’ table to the ‘Independent Assurance - Complete’ tablewhere the field/text box named "Status" has a value of "Complete".

It would be great if someone could assist with a query or VB script to automate this, any help much appreciated.

Thanks,

Cal

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop
Most people would advise to leave as is and exclude status=complete from normal processing, unless you are approaching size limits.
However use the query designer to create two queries. That way you also learn more about Access.

1. An append query to select all records with that status.
2. A delete query to select all records with that status to delete from table 1 if previous query was successful.

Upvote 0
Thanks Welshgasman, much appreciated. i wouldnt even know where to begin attempting to create an append query, but thanks anyway.

Thanks
Cal

Upvote 0
i wouldnt even know where to begin attempting to create an append query
Google is your friend here!
Just Google "create an append query in access", and you will get tons of articles and tutorials that show you how to do this.

Being a visual learner myself, I usually prefer watching the YouTube tutorials, where you can see every step along the way.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi Joe,