Lookup Multiple Values across Multiple Columns and return the value in a new column

CStenner

Col 1
Col 2
Col 3
Col 4
Col 5
Col 6
Lookup
John Smith 12345 HoS
Jane Simpson 3456
Another Name 9876
Hector Wilson 34523
etc
etc
Jane Jones 53425
Another Name 9876
Kelly White 19282
Adam Lewis 45455
etc
etc
Hector Wilson 34523
John Smith 12345
Kelly White 19282
Phil West 765655
etc
etc
Adam Lewis 45455
Jane Simpson 3456
Jane Jones 53425
Hector Wilson 34523
etc
etc

<tbody>
</tbody>
Hi

I'm fairly new to Access and have a problem that I can't seem to work out on my own. Not really sure how to describe it so hope the title is ok.

I have a data set that contains (amongst other things) 6 columns that have lists of names with ID numbers and job role i.e. 1 record might be "John Smith 12345 Head of Sales". Often with brackets and other symbols thrown in.

I have a list of about 36 ID numbers that I want to look up across the 6 columns. I have done this before with a much smaller list of ID numbers (6) using nested iif's and "like".

However, now I have over 30 values I'm hoping there's a much quicker way to do this?

I don't mind if I have to look up to the 6 columns individually and then combine the results in to 1 column. I just don't want to nest an iif 30 odd times.

Someone suggested I use "in" but I can't work out how to do this in a query

Sample data above (I couldn't work out o to move it to the bottom)

Grateful for any help

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
However, now I have over 30 values I'm hoping there's a much quicker way to do this?
Your have a data structure issue. The issue is that your data is not normalized. De-normalized data can make seemingly simple tasks much more difficult and complex to do.
Do you have any ability to reorganize your data?

In a well-designed Access table (which would follow the rules of normalization), the following would be true: