Syntax problem in Query column builder, please help.

Maggie Barr

Board Regular
Hello, and thank you in advance if you can help,
I am trying to create a new column in a query based on two fields, PROTOCOL TYPE & DURATION MINUTES. After much online searching trying to find help with syntax and trying multiple types of formulas, I am at a loss. In my most recent attempt, in the "builder" for the new column I am putting:
ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN: If PROTOCOL TYPE = "Historical" Then 1
ElseIf PROTOCOL TYPE = "Incidental" Then 1
ElseIf DURATION MINUTES >240 Then 240
Else DURATION MINUTES

Below is a description of what I am trying to do:
The column I want to create is ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN
Then if PROTOCOL TYPE = "Historical" OR "Incidental" make ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN 1
As well, If DURATION MINUTES is greater than 240 make ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN 240
Otherwise make ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN = DURATION MINUTES

I am new to Access and trying to do as much in Access because doing it all in Power Query, which is where I will end of for analyses purposes, was choking the program and taking WAY to long to perform tasks.
Any advice would be appreciated!
Thank you,
Maggie

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Just use a nested IIF function, i.e.
Code:
[COLOR=#333333]ADJUSTED_DURATION_MIN: IIF([[/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]PROTOCOL TYPE] = "Historical" OR [/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][[/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]PROTOCOL TYPE] = [/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]"Incidental",1,IIF([[/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]DURATION MINUTES] > 240,240,[[/COLOR][COLOR=#333333]DURATION MINUTES]))[/COLOR]

Upvote 0
Joe4,